Professors Berlinguette and Ng elected to the Royal Society of Canada

We are thrilled to announce that AMM members Professor Curtis Berlinguette and Professor Raymond Ng have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada. A tremendous achievement marking the highest honour in Canadian academia.



Success at John R Evans Leaders Fund for AMM faculty

Congratulations to Ahmad Al-Dabbagh (School of Engineering, UBC-O) and Michael Benoit (School of Engineering, UBC-O) who have scored recent success at the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s (CFI) John R. Evans Leaders Fund for their projects on ‘Toward Autonomy and Resilience of Control Systems Using an Industry 4.0 Platform’ and ‘Development of Crack-Resistant High Strength Aluminum Alloys for Laser Metal Deposition’, respectively.


JULY 2021

AMM cluster boosted by five new joiners

We are delighted to welcome five faculty members to the AMM cluster:

  • Ben Britton (Materials)
  • Sergey Kravchenko (Materials)
  • Amanda Clifford (Materials)
  • Ahmad Al-Dabbagh (School of Engineering, UBC-O)
  • Minkyun Noh (Mechanical)

JUNE 2021

Two AMM professors elected to the Canadian Academy of Engineering

Congratulations to Professor Warren Poole and Professor Walter Merida who have been elected as Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. They join other AMM researchers with being granted one of the highest professional honours for engineers in Canada for their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.


MAY 2021

AMM features in UBC's Knowledge Exchange Awareness Campaign

We are honoured that the AMM cluster was featured in UBC’s Knowledge Exchange Awareness Campaign showcasing the work of UBC research groups engaged in knowledge exchange.


APRIL 2021

Professor Berlinguette named a 2021 Distinguished University Scholar at UBC

Congratulations to Professor Curtis Berlinguette (Chemistry/CHBE) who has been named a UBC Distinguished University Scholar, an award which recognizes exceptional faculty in research and/or teaching and learning.


MARCH 2021

2020 CFI success in additive manufacturing

Many congratualtions to Professor Warren Poole who led AMM’s successful $8m CFI application, ‘AM+: Mobilizing Additive Manufacturing for Automotive, Aerospace and Clean Energy’. The application, which included AMM members Professors Wilkinson, Schafer, Sinclair, Maijer, Cockcroft, Altintas and Jin, will equip AMM with a new suite of production and characterization equipment to tackle the wicked problems associated with turning additive manufacturing into a mainstream production process.



AMM researchers win big in NSERC Alliance grants

Congratulations to all seven AMM researchers that were collectively awarded close to $3M in NSERC Alliance funding:

  • Purang Abolmaesumi (ECE)
  • Mohammad Arjmand (UBC-O SoE)
  • Curtis Berlinguette (CHBE)
  • Lukas Bichler (UBC-O SoE)
  • Walter Mérida (MECH)
  • Matthias Militzer (MTRL)
  • Homayoun Najjaran (UBC-O SoE)



Welcome Assistant Professor Yasmine Abdin

A very warm welcome to Assistant Professor Yasmine Abdin who has recently joined the UBC Materials Engineering department and AMM cluster from the Advanced Composite and Fiber Structures Laboratory at École Polytechnique de Montréal. Currently, her research focuses on damage and durability of composite materials using advanced experimental and modelling techniques to link manufacturing to component behaviour.